About Us

District Profile

Flamingo Isles Municipal Utility District (the “District”) is a conservation and reclamation district created by a special law passed by the Texas Legislation in 1965, Texas Civil Statutes Article 8280-327 and codified at Chapter 9052, Special District Local Laws Code (the “Act”). The Act states that the District has the power to provide water and sanitary sewer facilities to land within the District, reclaim land and provide for drainage of land within the District, and provided for navigation of its coastal and inland water. Pursuant to such powers, the District is authorized to dredge navigation canals and construct bulkheading along the canals. The District operates under the Act and the general laws pertaining to water control and improvement districts, including Chapters 49 and 51 of the Texas Water Code, as amended. The primary purpose of the District is to construct and maintain bulkheading and to carry out dredging for canals within and about the District. The District operates under the supervision of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (“TCEQ”).

The District encompasses the Harborwalk Community development which is a canal community located in southern Galveston County, within the City of Hitchcock (the “City”), and approximately 40 miles south of the City of Houston. The District is generally bounded on the south and east by West Galveston Bay and on the west and north by marsh wetlands. The District is located approximately 3 miles west of Interstate 45 and approximately 3 miles south of State Hwy 6; the District is accessed by Harbor Drive (originally Flamingo Isles Boulevard) at State Hwy 6. The District is located in the Hitchcock Independent School District. The land within the District is being developed as the Harborwalk Community and Marina (the “Harborwalk Community”). The Harborwalk Community is a waterfront residential and commercial development on West Galveston Bay.

District Map

(Click Here For PDF Version)

Board Members

The District is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of five (5) Board members elected by the registered voters of the District, who manage and supervise all affairs of the District. Board members must either own property within the District or be a registered voter within the District. Each Board member is elected to serve a staggered four (4) year term. The District’s current Board members are as follows:

  • Elizabeth (Beth) Shields, President, Term Expires: November 2024
  • David Dunn, Vice-President, Term Expires: November 2026
  • Rae Berry, Secretary, Term Expires: November 2026
  • Joe Wrigge, Assistant Secretary, Term Expires: November 2026
  • Kenneth Stumbaugh, Treasurer, Term Expires: November 2024

District Contact Information



Sanford Kuhl Hagen Kugle Parker Kahn LLP
1980 Post Oak Blvd #1380, Houston, TX 77056
Attorney(s): Laura C. Davis & Ryan E. LaRue
Legal Assistant: Judy Marcantel
Phone: (713) 850-9000


Shelmark Engineering, LLC
921 FM 517 Road East
Dickinson, TX 77539

Contact: Marcus Michna
Phone: (409) 935-9986


3100 West Alabama St.
Houston, TX 77098

Contact: Chris Sallese, PMP
Phone: (713) 520-9570


L & S District Services, LLC
P.O. Box 170
Tomball, Texas 77377
Contact: Debra Loggins
Phone: (281) 356-7542

Tax Assessor/Collector

ASW, Inc.
5 Oaktree St.
Friendswood, TX 77546

Contact: Brittni Silva
Phone: (281) 482-0216

Financial Advisor

The GMS Group
5075 Westheimer Rd., Suite 1175
Houston, TX 77055

Contact: John Howell
Phone: (713) 622-7620


McGrath & Co., PLLC
2500 Tanglewilde St., Suite 340
Houston, TX 77063

Contact: Mark McGrath
Phone: (713) 493-2602

Web Design/Communications

Infinity Services, LLC
23501 Cinco Ranch Blvd.
Katy, TX 77494
Contact: Allen DeJonge
Phone: (573) 268-9577